Baking Break-throughs (Link Love)

I spent yesterday evening with my lovely friend A, working on a recipe I’ve been wanting to try for weeks.  I’m slowly building up my base of flours and starches–not enough to try any basic mix yet, but I now have white rice flour, sweet rice flour, tapioca starch, and corn starch, in addition to some store-bought GF AP mixes (Pamela’s, Bisquik, etc).  Fiddling with the ratio of egg to flour and adding rice flour to my mother’s gluten-full popover recipe led to the best end-result yet, though I have many more modifocations to make before I’m truly happy.  But today was a huge step in the right direction!  Mom approved, and even likes the extra bit of chew in the GF version compared to her usual recipes.  Its starting to feel like I’m understanding the interplay of flours and starches a little bit more, which is a welcome alternative to staring dazedly down at all of the little bags of white stuff.

Rice flour popovers 

Still, while I’m happy to find I have fairly easy access to these flours and starches (and I haven’t even visited the local Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods, yet!), I still need to find the balance in consumption/use to expense.  I can’t afford to buy new packages of flours every week.  Thankfully, being back home (and sharing a kitchen and food with family, rather than 5 roommates each buying their own food and promptly forgetting about it in the cramped recesses of our fridge) means I have much better access to fresh and varied produce and meats, with less strain on my budget and less fear of the food spoiling.  I’m far less reliant on starches than I was at school, where the mediocre meals had to been rounded out by rice, or more commonly found, potatoes, to actually feel substantial.

A few weeks before graduation, I stumbled across Kate Chan of Gluten Free Gobsmacked’s recipe for Chicken Potstickers.  I’ve been holding off as I tracked down all of the ingredients, but A and I both needed a distraction, so last night, we set to work.  I was a little intimidated, having never made pasta dough (with or without gluten), much less a filled, gluten-free pasta.  And though we were initially skeptical about the small quantities of ingredients going into the filling, it turned out to be more than enough.  In fact, we ran out of dough before running out of filling, and fried up a couple “meatballs” to finish off the chicken mixture.  With our inexperience, I’m quite pleased with how they came out.  We should have rolled the dough a tad thinner, and cut bigger circles, but we ended up with well over 40 miniature dumplings and an encouraging feeling of success.  I was further surprised at how much the dough puffed as it boiled, our little minis were nearly full-sized when cooked through and crisped.

Frying Chicken Potstickers 

Mom and the Brother were at work during this adventure, so I’ve used that as an excuse to pull out a batch for dinner tonight, along with some quick fried rice to use up leftover steak and veggies.  We’ll see what they’re opinions are, but, at the very least, I’m ecstatic.  I’ll admit, asian dumplings and pizza (okay, and Bagel Bites–I did survive 3 years of college before my diagnosis) have been my most missed foods. Between these darlings and Shirley at Gluten Free Easily’s recipe for Flourless Pizza, I’ve been deliciously satisfied!

Flourless pizza with sausage & tomatoes

2 Comments on “Baking Break-throughs (Link Love)”

  1. Yay for your new successes! So happy that you have been enoying the flourless pizza; it’s beloved by many. ;-) Thanks for the link back!

    Shirley

  2. [...] cauliflower crusts, but I didn’t like how much cheese was within the crust.  I have made an All-Cheese Pizza Crust, but I prefer to have my cheesy melty goodness on top of the pizza.  To have it on top and in [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 192 other followers