Catching Up (Link Love)

I know, I know, it’s been weeks. I’m sorry.  I got very busy between graduations, weddings, new cars, internship applications, resumes, dead laptops, new laptops, river trips, Doctor Who, and catching up with friends, to name a few.  There was a fair amount of cooking in between, but only about half were photographed.  I need to get better at that.  I never have my camera around, though I do have my phone, so we’re settling for  poor-quality images of end products at the moment.  Usually my hands are too covered for me to stop for a snapshot.  But, here are the last few weeks, a la android phone:

My new (and first) car!  Her name is Tabitha and I love her.  And yes, I went through all of college without a car.  It was barely possible and generally depressing.  No more, though!

I painted a bench to look like bricks. In the middle of a June afternoon.  Talk about alumni spirit…(though the bench is pretty epic, I must say).

My mother and brother drove down to North Carolina to look at his college, and came back with more flours than I could imagine!  It was all very exciting! (And if you look in the  upper corner, there are my new copies of Shauna Ahern’s and Karen Morgan’s cookbooks, courtesy of friend who tried giving up gluten, only to later find she was lactose-intolerant.  She kindly handed off the cookbooks to me and I’ve been ravenously reading ever since.)

Mexican for dinner: Chicken Enchiladas made from the recipe on the back of the Philidelphia Cooking Creme-Santa Fe Style.  This recipe was fantastic!  (And yes, these cremes are gluten-free!)  Absolutely delicious and really easy to put together.  Of course, I used corn tortillas instead of flour, but just by layering two (think Venn diagrams), they wrapped around the filling.  Also my sister’s Two Bean Salad which is incredibly simple.  Sometime, I’ll post the recipe, which is barely a recipe, as its all pretty much to taste.  This salad is great by itself, but it makes a large batch and we use it throughout the rest of the week on tacos or rice; I’ve even cooked some into an omelet.  The final bowl is queso, from a recipe that was not a favorite.  I won’t be making it again.

Baked eggs with smoked gouda and tarragon and GF bread.  Its one of the first recipes in Gluten-Free Girl and the Chef: simple, comforting, and most importantly, in my book: an egg dish!  I love eggs with an unhealthy passion.  While I lived on campus, all of our late-night food options made a weak attempt at diner fare with burgers, pizza, and breakfast dishes, and all I ever ordered was eggs.  I can and will eat eggs at anytime of day or night, and am always looking for new ways to cook them.

Blueberry pancakes.  These were made with GF Bisquik, which makes the most phenomenal pancakes. I like them better than any traditional wheat pancake.  I followed the recipe on the back of the box and dropped in a handful of blueberry right before I flipped the cakes, while the top batter was still soft.

Twice Baked Potatoes.  I could easily live off these.  I even cheated and microwaved them for the first part, so, they probably took about 30 minutes total to throw together.  I mixed sour cream, a dollop of cream cheese (would have been amazing with chive, but regular worked fine), bacon, shredded monteray-jack cheese, salt & pepper with the mashed potato innards before scooping it all back into the potato skins.  Sprinkled with more cheese and chopped green onions and popped them into a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes, until everything is bubbly.

The complete (heart-attack) dinner.  We had bacon nearing its expiration, so I was looking for ways to use it up.  Needing to go to the market gave me the sausages (it was that or porkbutt and I did not have that much time).  I’ve been on an asparagus kick lately (seriously, its probably my favorite vegetable these days), and had never tried the bacon-asparagus combo.

I don’t know how I lived before this.

Seriously.

I’ve been wrapping up a single bunch for breakfast, frying it in a pan on the stove and topping it with eggs.  I’ve had it three days in a row.  I might have a problem.  But anyways, the rest of the dinner was rounded out by the leftovers of the bean salad.  Altogether, probably not the healthiest of dinners, but absolutely delicious nonetheless.

Nutella Brownies!  I’ve posted the recipe previously, but let me reiterate: these are perfect!  And, best of all, an entire batch only makes 12 mini muffin cups-worth, so if you have no self-control (like me), you don’t have much chance of going entriely out of control.  Even in a household of 3, you can only snatch a few of these bites before they are gone.

 And here begins my one and only attempt in the past three weeks to document the process of baking, like a proper foodblogger (I won’t start on my feelings of proper/improper food-blogging.  That’ll get its own post one day.)

Dark Chocolate and Peanut Butter Cupcakes from The Blackbird Bakery Cookbook.  Ingredients for the cupcakes themselves.  I forgot to take a picture of the frosting ingredients.  Strike one.

Then I only remembered to take a picture right before I stuck ‘em in the oven. Strike two.

And skipped over the frosting making and process entirely.  Strike three.  Ah well, who cares?  They got made and that’s all that matters.   To be honest, the cakes themselves were a tad too dry, though the peanut butter frosting can and will be my sustenance for the rest of my days.  Seriously.  What’s better than peanut butter icing?  Anyways, I kept these in the fridge to keep them fresh, and liked them so much better when cold.  The temperature seemed to excuse the dry cake, and made the PB frosting the texture of fudge.  So good.  Speaking of fudge, I should put up my recipe for 5-minute, 3-ingredient, no-work fudge.  Now that one is to die for…

Berry cobbler!  We had blueberries that were on the brink of spoiling, and strawberries up to our ears, so I chopped them up, macerated for a minute or two in lemon juice and a sprinkle of sugar, and topped with oatmeal crumble topping.  It was especially exciting, because instead of the gluten-filled AP flour in the recipe, I could use oat flour!  (And tapioca starch, to balance things out.)  I’m not sure why, but the ability for pure flavor like that makes me giddy.  And it was amazing.  I pulled it golden and bubbly from the oven and remembered that I had leftover heavy cream from the cupcakes.  Thank you, Magic Bullet Blender–I had whipped cream in seconds.  Which melted entirely when it hit the hot crumble, but boy was it delicious.

And finally, I made Graham Crackers. It’s summer and I wanted s’mores, darn it!  How hard is it to stock GF graham crackers next to the nut-thins and chocolate wafers?  I’ve seen GF grahams, I know they exist.  I used them in the GF version of my mom’s twix bars last Christmas.  But, despite several shopping trips to several stores, I had no luck.  So I stopped whining, put on my big girl pants, and made my own.  And they were good.  Just barely soft, but crunchy, lightly touched with cinnamon and honey. And absolutely perfect for s’mores.  In fact, making these led to meeting up with friends and a fire pit, which led to a weekend filled with s’mores, hammocks, good conversations, river trips, and movies under the stars.  Amazing what one little recipe can start… :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers