Italian Peasant Soup

I have the house to myself for two days.  And what else does one do when home alone, but cook massive amounts of food?  Come on folks, I can’t be the only one who cooks outrageously and then has to figure out how to save the leftovers until the rest of my housemates return…right?  Anybody?

Well then, I couldn’t help myself.  I’d put together the christmas tree (yes we are on the fake tree bandwagon), finished all my christmas shopping, worked out, cleaned the kitchen…it was just begging to be dirtied up again.  I had a few different bread recipes tucked away to try; and, with our region encased in heavy rains for 48 hours straight, I was craving soup.  Pull out the stockpot and the yeast, here we go!

Quinoa-Sesame Sandwich Bread, Rosemary-Olive Oil Loaf, Italian Peasant Soup, & Whole Grain Quinoa Loaf

I’ve been looking for easy, reliable bread recipes.  While I like the taste of some commercial brands, I can’t actually reason spending $5+ on a tealoaf.  I’m hoping to find something consistent enough to become my own go-to for bread.  After the great success with their Popovers and Easy Dinner Rolls, I went ahead and tried Living Without Magazine’s Quinoa Sesame “Wonder” Bread.  I would highly recommend picking up a copy of this magazine (no, I am not under any incentive to say that) if you can find it in stores.  The consistency of their recipe success has been better than any other Gluten Free cookbook or blog I’ve encountered thus far.

Additionally, because I was intrigued by the ability to bake without the loaf pan, I made a batch of Gluten Free Girl’s “Crusty Bread Even Those Who Eat Gluten Might Like” from Shauna’s Gluten Free Girl and The Chef cookbook, splitting the dough and making one plain, while adding olive oil, rosemary, sea salt and parsley to the other.

I was impressed with both recipes.  The Quinoa loaf is especially delicious, but I may keep the sesame seeds and continue looking for a good bread recipe that uses more easily attainable flours.

During the rising and baking time, I decided to throw together Italian Peasant Soup, a surprisingly quick recipe that makes a ton of soup.  Be prepared to serve a lot of people or to go ahead and freeze a few servings.

Italian Peasant Soup

  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 lb italian sausage, chopped
  • 1 lb chicken breasts, chopped
  • 2 medium onions, chopped
  • 6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes (14 oz cans)
  • 2 cans cannellini beans (14 oz cans), drained and rinsed
  • 2 boxes chicken broth (24 oz boxes – 48 oz/6 cups total)
  • 1 Tbsp basil
  • 1 Tbsp oregano
  • 1 bag of spinach (about 4 cups), torn into bite-sized pieces
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

In large stock pot over medium heat, cook sausage in olive oil until browned and cooked through.  Remove sausage to reserve bowl with slotted spoon.  Add onions and garlic to pot and cook until translucent and fragrant.  Add chicken, cook through, stirring often.  Add tomatoes with their juice (undrained) and rinsed beans to pot, followed by chicken broth and spices.  Bring to a boil, then turn down to simmer.  Simmer for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Return sausage to pot, continue cooking 15-20 minutes more, until sausage and soup is hot.  Add spinach and heat until wilted. Serve garnished with parmesan cheese.

Dinner is served!

One Comment on “Italian Peasant Soup”

  1. […] basil soup.  Some of my favorite kinds have already graced this blog: tomato basil, French onion, Italian Peasant soup, Pot Pie soup… I am excited to try a couple of new ideas in the coming weeks, as […]


Leave a Reply

