Thanksgiving Leftovers: Turkey Hash

Hashes are all over the web and are one of those dishes that don’t really have (or need) a proper recipe.  It is a quick, easy, delicious dish(that I favor as breakfast, but could be made for any meal) that uses up copious leftovers.  It was a no brainer for me, as I love hash with eggs.  And, while I did forget to make the sweet potato souffle for Thanksgiving, I had already separated the six eggs I would need.  So I had to use up a lot of eggs on top of turkey, potatoes, stuffing, and the rest. If you still have some bits of dishes hanging around, try a hash for a hearty breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Hash is easy.  Choose the ingredients you want to include in your hash.  Meat and potatoes are traditional, but from there, the sky is the limit.  I choose some brussel sprouts and some sausage stuffing from Thanksgiving, a bit of onion and some tomatoes.  Chop all your ingredients into equal-sized pieces (shoot for smaller than bite-sized, so you can have a bit of each ingredient in each bite).  Heat some oil or butter in a saute pan, and, when hot, added your ingredients, cooking until heated through and the potatoes have a good crisp crust.  If you want to add some spices or cheese, right before removing from heat, feel free.

Scrape hash onto plates or find a new pan to make your eggs in.  Make your eggs however you like, and slide on top of the hash.  I had some cranberry relish alongside because I can’t get enough of the stuff.

Tada!

 

Good luck with the last of your leftovers.  M’s mum made turkey pasta salad last night so I think (*crosses fingers*) we’ve almost gotten through all of our leftovers.  Last thing left to do is try my hand at homemade stock!

One Comment on “Thanksgiving Leftovers: Turkey Hash”

  1. […] Turkey Hash — the classic breakfast for post-Black Friday shopping. […]


Leave a Reply

