Homemade Holidays #2: Spicy Almond Slices

Somewhere in the midst of the madness that is my life at the holidays (Children’s holiday shows are a serious business), I had an evening of utter abandon and made six dozen cookies.  Should I really  be so surprised, after last year?  Anyways, I did, thankfully, make all of these sweets before my 8-performances-in-48-hours-weekend that brought on a nasty virus.  I’m still trying to shake this sickness and trying to churn out all of my holiday posts and recipes within the next couple of days, because M and I are leaving for the UK on Sunday!  AH!

Confession: I haven’t packed at all.  I do have a list of what needs to be packed…that is a step in the right direction, isn’t it?  Packing for a wedding/meeting the entire family/traveling all up and down the country is hard enough, but when it has to be done with bulky, warm winter clothes, it is even worse.  I’m hoping I can stay under 51 lbs for my one free checked bag!  Hahaha.  (But seriously, I’m taking 5 pairs of shoes!  While I have a lot at home, I have never been a crazy packer… until now, I suppose).  Sometime (probably Friday) I will force myself to sit down, sort things out and pack away, but, in the meantime, I can procrastinate by sharing my Christmas recipes with you, right!

These Spicy Almond Slices were posted with last year’s batch of Christmas cookies, but as one of the two repeat recipes who made the cut in this year’s mad-dash baking spree, I thought they deserved they’re own post with pictures.  These cookies are a wonderful break from the normal deluge of Christmas cookies: crisp, crunchy, and not-too-sweet.  They are also the perfect icebox cookie.  Simply double-wrap after forming the unbaked dough into a log and store in your freezer for up to six months.  I bake them straight from frozen (you may have to add a minute or two to the baking time, keep an eye on them).  Though it does seem like a lot of spices (well, the normal amount to me, which can seem a little extreme), the cinnamon and nutmeg and clove come through as a warm undertones, supporting the nuttiness of the double almond flavor.  And, as a special bonus, this recipe is pretty easy to halve or to double!

Spicy Almond Slice Cookies

I used almond flour in these cookies to up the nut flavor.  You can replace the almond flour with an additional 3/4 c. + 1 Tbsp of the GF Flour blend.

  • 1 c. (112 g.) almond flour
  • 1 1/2 c + 1 Tsbp White Rice Flour
  • 1 c. Tapioca Flour
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 c. butter (2 sticks), softened
  • 1 c. granulated sugar
  • 3/4 c. brown sugar
  • 1 Tbs. cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp. cloves
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 extra large eggs
  • 2 c. sliced almonds.

In  medium bowl, whisk almond flour with GF flour blend.  In large bowl, beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, cloves, baking soda, vanilla, nutmeg, salt, eggs, and 2 cups of flour mix until well-mixed.  With wooden spoon, stir in remaining 1 1/2 (+ 1 Tsbp) flour and sliced almonds.  Dough will be very stiff, use hands to mix if necessary.

Divide dough in half.  Shape each half into 10″x3″x1″ log, wrap each in wax paper or plastic wrap.  Refrigerate at least 4 hours or up to 1 week.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Cut brick into 1/4″ slices.  Place slices 2″ apart on ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake 10-12 minutes until browned around edges.  Cool on wire rack.  Store tightly covered.

Makes 3 1/2 dozen cookies.

One Comment on “Homemade Holidays #2: Spicy Almond Slices”

  1. […] “Twix” Bar cookies, Turtle Cookies, Chocolate-Peppermint Biscotti, Lemon Tea Cookies, Spicy Almond Slices, or Caramel-Oat Cookie […]


Leave a Reply

