A Belated St Patrick’s Day Dinner (that is just as good on any Tuesday!)

st pats dinner

St. Patrick’s Day weekend was a little hectic for us.  Actually, the last few weeks, clearly, have been quite busy.  We’ve finally settled all of the paperwork to move into our new house(!), but now we are packing up everything in less than a week to move in April 1st.  I’ve just gone through all of my clothes (I have no idea how I got so many) and even though I overhauled my closet less than two years ago, and gather up three garbage bags-worth of clothes and shoes to donate yesterday, I am slightly concerned about how I will fit all of it in my dresser and closet at the new place. I may just have to steal some of M’s closet space.  In all seriousness, I am over-the-moon with excitement knowing that we will each have our own separate closet and separate dresser.  Glorious! I haven’t even begun to sort through my kitchen items, yet.  That task is as frightening, but only because I keep assuring myself that I won’t have to get rid of anything.  Thankfully, this house comes with a huge, beautiful kitchen (with a giant pantry)!  I’m less concerned with being as selective with my precious kitchen items as I’ve had to be with my clothes.

st pats top

I am grateful that it is Spring Break, so one of my jobs is on break as well.  It’s been nice to have a little more free time to try to gather my life into boxes.  A few weeks ago, our St. Patrick’s day celebration was almost somber and sober, compared to most.  I said almost.  M had two shows with a changeover in-between.  I spent Saturday evening, while he was at Show #1, at my mother’s, to see my visiting aunt and cousin.  There, I had (the near-obligatory) corned beef.  I thought that was about the end of St. Patrick’s day food-celebrations.  However, the next morning, everyone else’s dinner proclamations on Facebook sounded just too tasty.  I found lamb chops for fantastically cheap and that settled the deal.  I set some cabbage to boil with bacon and pepper, cooked some carrots, mashed some sweet potatoes with garlic, baked up some popovers, and seared up the lambchops for a surprisingly fast and delicious dinner, complete with cider.  The perfect detail was the pan sauce I made.  M and I put it on everything.  Pan sauce is one of my favorite things to make because it is so simple.  Five extra minutes, plus a little wine and broth in the pan you’ve cooked the meat in is all it take to ramp up your meal from good to great!   

I don’t really feel like any of the cooking I did this day truly deserve a “recipe”, though I will do my best to provide a recipe-like breakdown for you.  All of the spices and flavorings are optional and interchangeable.  Choose herbs and combinations that serve your own taste.  Though I made this with St. Patrick’s day in mind, it really is easy enough to make any night of the week!  Next time you see lamb on sale, give these herbed lamb chops a try!

st pats close

Herbed Lamb Chops

Serves 4 | Prep time: 5-30 minutes | Cook time: 10-15 minutes

  • 4 lamb chops (bone-in)
  • 2 Tbsp rosemary, finely chopped
  • 1 Tbsp garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp. ground thyme
  • 1 tsp. ground cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp. red wine vinegar
  • 2 tsp. worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp.+ olive oil
  • salt & pepper

Mix all herbs, salt, pepper, vinegar, and worcestershire sauce with enough olive oil to make a paste. Coat all sides of the lamb chops and allow to sit for, at least, five or up to 30 minutes.  After chops have marinated, heat a large skillet over medium-high heat for several minutes.  Add a thin coat of oil or nonstick spray, and place the chops in.  Allow a little breathing room between chops. Sear the chops for 4-5 minutes, flip and cook for an additional 4-5 minutes.  Remove chops from pan, cover and let rest while you prepare the pan sauce.

Pan Sauce

Serves 4 | Prep time: cooktime of a cut of meat | Cook time: 5-10 minutes

  • Drippings/leavings in a pan from searing meat
  • 1 c. chicken or beef broth
  • 1/2 c. white wine

Reduce heat to under the hot pan. Deglaze with wine.  Allow wine to cook for one minute, then add chicken broth. Use a wooden spoon to scrape the bottom of the pan.  Raise sauce to a simmer, allow to reduce down to preferred thickness.

Garlic Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Serves: 4 | Prep time: 5 minutes | Cook time: 15-20 minutes

  • 3 lg. sweet potatoes
  • 1 Tbsp. garlic, minced
  • 1 Tbsp. butter
  • 3 Tbsp.+ milk of choice (nondairy is fine)
  • salt & pepper

Peel sweet potatoes.  Chop into even pieces and place into a medium pot.  Fill the pot with water an inch above the potatoes.  Bring to a boil over medium heat and cook until tender, about 10-15 minutes.  Remove potatoes from heat, drain, and add remaining ingredients.  Mash until smooth.

Boiled Cabbage

Serves: 4 | Prep time: 5 minutes | Cook time: 15-20 minutes

  • 1 sm. head of cabbage
  • 3 slices bacon
  • 2 tsp. peppercorns
  • salt to taste

Core the cabbage and remove outer leaves.  Cut into quarters.  Place cabbage in large pot, cover with water.  Take one slice of bacon and peppercorns and wrap in a leaf of cabbage.  Add flavor packet to the pot.  Bring cabbage to a boil and cook until tender, about 15 minutes.  Drain cabbage, remove flavor packet, and discard.  Cook remaining bacon.  Use two forks to shred cabbage. Chop all three slices of bacon and add to cabbage.  Season with salt and pepper.

2 Comments on “A Belated St Patrick’s Day Dinner (that is just as good on any Tuesday!)”

  1. nijah06 says:

    Yummy Looking Good I love lamb especially with mint jelly.


Leave a Reply

