Gluten-Free Yogurt Soufflés for Busy Times

souffle topped

My life is on the verge of that particular “busy” that only comes with summer camps.  I have mentioned that I am on the administrative and teaching staff for a small arts company.  So all of the processing, planning, and scheduling of 600+ students and a 40+ teaching team over a 7-week span falls to me and my four other cohorts.  This is my first time being so involved with the prep and pre-planning needed for camp, so it has certainly been a huge learning curve to overcome in order to work effectively.  I am quite excited for camp to start, but we just have to wade through all of the paperwork to actually get to camp.  Alongside the endless loads of laundry and meal planning that I am attempting, since I know I will hardly have time for such things after the camp starts.

souffled topped above

Not too long ago, I faced one of my fears in order to whip up a delicious, beautiful breakfast.

Do you remember my shortlist of dishes and cooking practices in the kitchen that intimidate me?  If not, here’s the list again:

  • Kale chips
  • Deep frying
  • Soufflés
  • Homemade stock
  • Making sushi
  • Butchering Breaking Down*
  • Risotto

*I’ve amended butchering to Breaking Down, because I did mean the practice of taking apart a chicken or other larger piece of meat…not the actual killing of the animal…

souffle plain top

If you did remember, you know that I have already tried my hand at making my own kale chips and risotto from scratch, successfully.  So naturally, buoyed by my cooking-success-streak, I’d try something new: soufflés.   In all actuality, I came across a photo on Pinterest that was too irresistible.  And that is exactly how I found myself doctoring up gluten-free yogurt soufflés for breakfast on a Sunday morning.  Just as promised, these soufflés are beautiful, delicate bites of cheesecake-reminiscent heaven.  I filled my ramekins to the rim, so that the souffles were still substantial, even after they had fallen.  The promised cheesecake texture is spot-on.  The yogurt adds a touch of tang, but, if you are looking for a smoother flavor, vanilla-flavored greek yogurt would be a great option as well.  This is actually a very simple dish with a lot of “wow” factor–perfect for when you are hosting breakfast and brunch (or dished up after dinner as dessert!)

souffle bite 2

I topped these with some macerated raspberries and slivered almonds.  Next time, I plan on upping the lemon flavor even more.

souffle plain



Gluten-Free Greek Yogurt Soufflés

Adapted from Baking Bites

Serves: 4 | Prep time: 10 minutes | Cook time: 15 minutes

  • 1 c. greek yogurt, plain
  • 3 eggs, room temperature and divided yolks and whites
  • 2 Tbsp. white rice flour
  • 1 Tbsp. tapioca starch (or potato starch)
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 tsp. lemon zest
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/8 tsp. cream of tartar
  • 1/4 c. sugar (granulated)
  • additional butter & sugar for ramekins

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.  Grease inside of ramekins (bottom and sides, all the way up to the rim) with butter.  Ad a spoonful of sugar to the ramekin, turning and tapping until the sugar has coated the buttered surface.  In a medium bowl, whisk egg whites and cream of tartar until foamy.  Slowly add in sugar, beating mixture at medium-high, until the mixture doubles in size, all sugar has been incorporated, and the mixture forms soft peaks.  (Soft peaks are when the mixture lifts, than gently folds in a little point when you pull the whisk straight up out of the mixture.)  In large bowl, stir together yogurt and egg whites until thoroughly combined.  Mix in flour, salt, lemon zest, and vanilla extract.  Gently stir in about 1/4 of the egg white mixture.  Carefully and gently fold in the remainder of the egg white mixture until fully incorporated.  Divide into ramekins.  Lightly tap ramekins on counter to release any air bubbles.  Place filled ramekins on a baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes, until the tops begin to brown.  Do not open the oven during baking time.  Serve immediately.

The soufflés, as mentioned, should rise beautifully.  Even if they begin to fall, if you filled the ramekins to the rim, it will still make a lovely dish.

 

souffle empty

3 Comments on “Gluten-Free Yogurt Soufflés for Busy Times”

  1. Reblogged this on Gorgeously Gluten Free and commented:
    That looks yummy, can’t wait to try!

  2. alfrog says:

    It looks really yummy. I’ll have to try that one day. My husband was diagnosed with coeliac seven years ago but we are all eating gluten free.

  3. […] to show how to roll sushi.  I’ll be honest: the thought of making sushi was on my list of Very Intimidating Cooking Things. (Side note: if you’ve been reading along for a while, you should be celebrating with me […]


Leave a Reply

