Sweet & Smokey Roasted Tomatillo Salsa

tomatillosalsatitle

We have finally had a much-needed, relaxing weekend here.  With my company’s weekend classes starting next Saturday, I know it is probably our last ‘official’ (that is Saturday-Sunday) weekend off, but I’d even be happy with a few more instances of Sunday-Monday or Monday-Tuesday freedom–some kind of weekend-type spread, wherever it might occur during the week. Again, working in the arts and entertainment industries keep M and I on strange schedules.  But M actually had both Saturday and Sunday off, and, aside from a brief Saturday morning shift, I was free as well.  After sleeping in (to a glorious 8:30 AM…oh, adulthood) M spent Saturday on a day-long bachelor party for his friend–go-carts, skeet shooting, bars, steaks, and beer pong with the boys.  Punc and I headed over to visit my mother and let Punc get some energy out by playing with my mom’s dogs.  I didn’t do much beyond chat with my mother (and visit her baby turtles–head over to my Instagram to see them! –>), but it was lovely to simply sit and do nothing for a while. I did go through my great-grandmother’s recipe box for ideas for a new project of mine.  I will hopefully have more news on that soon!

tomatillosalsaprepedit

Today, after another lie-in, M and I walked Punc and I actually climbed back into bed after my shower for another nap–guess I needed a bit more catch-up for my sleep bank!  M and I went to an oyster roast with his coworkers and I came home with a bag full of apples from our friend’s parents’ farm.  They’d pushed a full milk crate onto him and his roommates, but I was happy to take a pound or two off their hands!  I will probably bake a few into something sweet, but I think most are destined to become apple butter…which will then probably find its way into a baked good. Now, I’ve banished myself upstairs while M watches the Breaking Bad finale.  I’m lagging in season two, simply for lack of time.  Usually, he will wait and watch it online on his iPad after I’ve gone to bed, but I figured the end should be on a real television.

tomatillosalsaprep2edit

M and I are going down to North Carolina this week for the wedding.  I am stocking up on NookBooks and hoping M will have as brilliant of a find as our last road trip’s The Bone Season for our audiobook.  We’ll be gone from Thursday to Sunday.  While he has a host of wedding party duties, I’m hoping I can get some serious relaxation in before we hit the race of Fall: Fall/Winter = holidays and Holidays = a lot of work in all of our jobs.  Hopefully I can squeeze in another post before we go and maybe I’ll find something inspiring over the weekend!

Today, I have a delectable recipe for Tomatillo Salsa that has been waiting quite patiently for some time.  My recipes are stacking up–pumpkin smoothies, several variations of the softest peasant bread imaginable, and even some veggie-packed muffins are waiting for their turn on this blog.  This salsa is perfect: though I am desperately clinging to tomatoes as summer comes to a close, I’ve been seeing tomatillos everywhere, still going strong.  Roasting brings out the natural sweetness of all of the vegetables, and can help prevent the watery taste that can sometimes come with tomatillos.  If you are looking for something a bit different to top your chips, give this salsa a try!

 

tomatillos2edit

Sweet & Smokey Roasted Tomatillo Salsa

Serves: 8-10* | Prep time: 15 min. | Cook time: 30 min

  • 1 pint tomatillos (about 5-6 large, or 10-15 small or medium)
  • 1 small green bell pepper
  • 1 large poblano pepper
  • 1 large sweet yellow onion
  • 4-8 garlic cloves, peeled (to taste–I used 7)
  • 1-2 jalapeño peppers** (optional)
  • 1/2 c. packed cilantro
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 1 tsp. sugar
  • 2 tsp. good olive oil
  • salt & black pepper

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.  Shuck the tomatillos by firmly grasping the stem and twisting.  The stem and papery skin should be easily removed.  Roughly chop tomatillos, all peppers (de-vein and de-seed jalapeños for less heat, leave some or all veins and seeds in for more heat), and onion.  Mix vegetables and garlic and spread in single layer over a parchment paper-lined, lightly oiled baking sheet.  Sprinkle lightly with salt.  Roast for 30 minutes, until vegetables are soft.  Allow to cool for 10 minutes.  Add roasted vegetables to a blender or food processor with cilantro, lime juice, sugar, olive oil, and additional salt and pepper.  Pulse to desired consistency.  If necessary, stir in more salt and pepper with a spoon, so as not to further liquify.  Chill at least 30 minutes before serving, or store tightly sealed in refrigerator for up to a week.

*As a dip.  If using to cover enchiladas, etc this should spread over 4-6 servings.  Makes about 2 1/2 cups.

**I did not include any jalapeños in the photos above–the salsa was incredibly mild, allowing the roasted sweetness and smoke to shine through.  The jalapeños are used to directly influence your preferred heat level.

One Comment on “Sweet & Smokey Roasted Tomatillo Salsa”


Leave a Reply

