Thanksgiving Recipe Round-up!

Well, I had hoped to get  jumpstart on my newest project, My Grandmother’s Recipe Box, and bring you the first of the recipes.  However, the day after I lasted posted, my oven did not heat up.  I tried a few times of turning it off and on, but I did not want to fiddle too much since we have a gas oven and our gas lines (while the stovetop control is wonderful) pretty much have me existing in a mild state of terror.  I grew up with electric coils, and while I know modern gas lines are very safe and secure, I still worry almost constantly.   So, I waited for the boys to come home and shoved my rapidly-rising, unbaked bread dough into the fridge.  They came home and fiddled some more with no luck, but were pretty sure that the oven wasn’t turning on at all (no sound or smell of gas), so I stopped hyperventilating about a gas leak.  And, even more lucky, our stovetop was still working.  But, that did mean we had to submit a request with our rental company and it took a week for the repair to come.  Needless to say, there was no baking down this week, and it seems like all of my grandmothers’ recipes require some time in the oven.  Instead, the crockpot came out twice, and I did a lot of sautéing (and lugged the over-risen bread dough to my mother’s to bake).  Thankfully, all is working perfectly, just in time to make one of my more ambitious projects: the latest Snickers-bar-inspired dessert for M’s birthday tomorrow.  That will, in some form, make it onto the blog quite soon, I am already suspicious that the recipe I tried did not turn out as I planned.  I am hoping that the addition of caramel-peanut filling and salted caramel frosting will help to perk up a sub-par cake.

In the meantime, I am taking a quick break, as I wait for my butter to come to room temperature, to round up my recipes that might find a place on your Thanksgiving table.  I am traveling up to visit family, so, aside from serving as a gluten-free consultant and helping wherever I can, I will be taking the easier role of ‘guest’ for this holiday.  Several others seem to be starting their recipe round-ups as well, so , if you are beginning to plan out your feast, take a few minutes to look through some of my favorite recipes.

gnocchi closeButternut Squash Gnocchi have the familiar flavors of the holidays, but are a more unusual way to add that squash flavor.

stuffsquash2

This Quinoa and Wild Rice Stuffing is chock full of apples, squash, sausage and herbs, and a nice change from traditional bread stuffings.

thanksgiving bread

My Knockoff Pepperidge Farms Cornbread Stuffing is quite close to the real deal, and the combination of white bread and cornbread makes for  a truly flavorful dish.

breadbriegrapes3

How about some French Bread?  Perfect as a base to cube for traditional stuffing, or to slice as is for the table.

popovers

Popovers are always first in line on our table at any occasion.

Peach-berry Pie

I am all about my pies at Thanksgiving.  My family rotates between some combination of Pumpkin, Apple, and Strawberry-Rhubarb.  Use the Best Gluten-Free Pie Crust for a fool-proof pie.

pots de creme side

Chocolate-Coffee Pots De Creme are surprisingly simple, but make for an elegant end to the evening.

pumpkinscone3

These Pumpkin Scones makes the perfect breakfast on a busy Thanksgiving morning.  Make ahead and freeze, then thaw for a delicious start to a hectic day!

 

2 Comments on “Thanksgiving Recipe Round-up!”

  1. shayewalsh says:

    Hi, I couldn’t seem to find an email. Can you email me so I can ask you a question about your dog?
    –Shaye
    shayewalsh1@gmail.com


Leave a Reply

