Meal Plan for April 19-25

Sprouts 1

Itty bitty radish sprouts!

One tech week is done!  Despite some serious delays in receiving our equipment, the show ultimately went well.  These weeks are pretty high stress for me.  I feel like I am pulled in every direction, trying to prep for the next week’s project while still slogging through the current week’s responsibilities.  Typically, when I’m stressed, I go straight for the comfort food.  Surprisingly, though, this past week I was (and still am) all about smoothies.  I usually go through a pretty serious smoothie phase during the summer, but last week, when I  opted for an egg sandwich on the morning that I had an early show, I ended up getting a smoothie for lunch.  I will keep on this smoothie train as long as possible–they are cheap, quick, and delicious!  I’m planning on a smoothie for every morning this week.  Lunches, as usual, are leftovers.  Dinner are not too fancy during this weekend, when I have rehearsal until 6:30-7:00 each day.  However, this week, my tech rehearsals are at a school that is ten minutes away from my house.  I will gladly take that over the 30 mile commute of last week’s rehearsals!

Sprouts 2

Snow pea sprouts

In other news, I planted most of our garden two Sundays ago.  I did some research on square foot gardening and figured I should just into the deep end for our first year in the community garden.  I laid out my grid and planted seeds for: carrots, bibb lettuce, mesclun greens, romaine, kale, spinach, radishes, red onions, snow peas, and snap peas.  I’m hoping to plant some bush beans next week, and then transplant tomato and pepper seedlings in May.  Two well-meaning neighbors warned me that it was too late to be starting seeds, but as of yesterday, we have tiny radish, bibb, and snow pea seedlings popping up from the soil!  I am so excited to see what I can grow this year!  I have plans for a summer planting and a fall planting, so I hope that this little 4×4′ plot will soon be contributing to our weekly vegetable haul.  Thankfully, we have had well-spaced rain since I planted, and, though Punc and I check each day on our morning walk, I haven’t yet had to water the plot myself.

M and I are still working through the meat in our freezer.  Nearly a month ago, we made a Costco run for bulk meat and I have been slowly getting through that stockpile.  I also have some vegetables to use up, so this weeks is built around the contents of our fridge.

Sunday: Roast Chicken and Potatoes and Leeks, with Arugula, Dill, and Yogurt Sauce; Artichokes.  Based on this recipe.  It was SO delicious!  We will definitely be making variations of this dish over and over again.

Monday: Saffron Risotto with Crunchy Chickpeas and Asparagus. Cheeseburgers and Sweet Potato Fries.  I needed a burger by the time I got home!

Tuesday: Cheeseburgers, Macaroni Salad, Sweet Potato Fries. Saffron Risotto with Crunchy Chickpeas and Asparagus.

Wednesday: Thai Chicken Enchildas, Artichokes.

Thursday: I will be with my students before their performance.  A mom is bringing Chik Fil A nuggets.  I’ll be packing dinner, probably some leftover chicken shredded with some BBQ sauce.

Friday: Dinner with the students once again.  Friday is pizza day, so, once again I will be bringing some kind of leftover for dinner.

Saturday: Eggs and Bacon.  In spite of my smoothie obsession, I do miss breakfast dishes.  So I’m making them for dinner.  The best of both worlds!

Leave a Reply

