2015 Thanksgiving Recipe Round-Up

 

The big day is just a week away!  While many bloggers are posting a recipe a day, with every dish you need for your Thanksgiving meal, I’ve got to be honest with you:  I have a huge fundraising event on Sunday, a final paper due on December 1st, and our shows’ going up on December 12.  We currently have half of a set that is 3/4 painted, and are only just beginning to make progress on props and costumes.  I am up to my ears in cardboard, feathers, and comparative assessments.  If it were left up to me, there would be no Thanksgiving at all this year. I’ve turned most of the responsibility over to M’s mum (which she did suggest before I said anything at all!)  She has been gracious enough to host most of my family as well, angel that she is.  So I’ll make a batch of cornbread tomorrow to allow it plenty of time to go stale (for my Knockoff Pepperidge Farm’s Stuffing–a must) and I will set aside my paper for long enough on Wednesday to whip up a couple of pies, but that will be the extent of my Thanksgiving contributions.

Luckily, I do have a handful of recipes from seasons past that just might be the perfect addition to your Thanksgiving table.  Check out below for ideas on stuffings, breads, desserts, and even breakfast for the big day!

thanksgiving bread

My Knockoff Pepperidge Farms Cornbread Stuffing will absolutely be gracing our table.  It is the closest it could be to the real deal!  And, it is totally chill with tasty, extra additions like precooked sausage, cranberries, and chestnuts!  Just gently stir right before the stuffing goes into the oven!

breadbriegrapes3

How about some French Bread?  Perfect as a base to cube for traditional stuffing, or to slice as is for the table.

popovers

Popovers are always first in line on our table at any occasion.

stuffsquash2

This Quinoa and Wild Rice Stuffing is chock full of apples, squash, sausage and herbs, and a nice change from traditional bread stuffings.

Peach-berry Pie

I am all about my pies at Thanksgiving.  This year, I’ll be making Bourbon-Toasted Pecan and an adaptation of Deb Perelman’s Nutmeg-Maple Cream Pie.  And I’ll be using the Best Gluten-Free Pie Crust for both!

picmonkey_image

Or how about some Coconut-Pumpkin Custard for a dairy-free dessert option?

pots de creme side

Chocolate-Coffee Pots De Creme are surprisingly simple, but make for an elegant (and MAKE-AHEAD) end to the evening.

brownies 3

Pumpkin-Swirl Brownies have all the flavors of Thanksgiving paired with the comfort of chocolatey brownies.  The recipe is a cinch to whip up well ahead of the big Turkey day!

pumpkinscone3

These Pumpkin Scones makes the perfect breakfast on a busy Thanksgiving morning.  Make ahead and freeze, then thaw for a delicious start to a hectic day!

Leave a Reply

