Weeknight Biscuit-Topped Chicken Pot Pie

pot-pie-title

Did you vote today?  I am typing away while the results roll in (eek!  I’ll be distracted soon enough).  Today was a student holiday workshop day, since the public schools were closed in order to be used as polling sites.  That means I had to be in work two hour earlier than normal.  And since I still had the late shift at work as well, and couldn’t be positive that I could get away during the day, my only choice to cast my vote was to wake up and do it before work.  I wanted to be sure that I had enough time, in case there were lines (there were), so I aimed to get to my polling place before it opened at 6am.  While my mother’s house isn’t that far away (I haven’t actually changed my permanent address yet…), in order to be up and prepared for the day plus the drive over, I had to wake up at 4:45am this morning.  Whoof.  Good thing I am all about making sure my voice is heard.  Plus, there was already a line when I got to the polling site at 5:40am, so I’m glad I was early.  I got the last spot inside out of the cold!  It was so worth it, but I am definitely beginning to drag!  I did manage a twenty minute catnap since I made it to work a little early (bargaining for traffic in this area is always a crapshoot).  Thankfully working at a theater company means we have handy items like beanbag chairs to add to my naptime comfort!

pot-pie-side

In the continuing saga of today, I had to bite the bullet and get a new car battery after my car died (totally knew it was coming) and my phone’s SIM card seems to be dying as well.  I can’t catch seem to a break whenever I am running on too little sleep.  I’ve tried all the tricks from the internet to try to reset the SIM card, but the best I can do is make my phone recognize the SIM but find no service…so, a dying antenna, most likely.  Unfortunately, this is not the best week to try to squeeze in an appointment at the Apple Store, but I may have no choice.  Thankfully, while on wifi, I can still have everything function and receive iMessages.  Occasionally, I’ll even have a regular text get through.  What is it about the holiday season, hmm?  Just when the gift and food costs start to add up (even extra, since M’s birthday is in November), everything electronic and/or mechanical in my life suddenly needs repairing, too.  Sigh.  I suppose that is how that goes!

However, speaking of stressful elections and less money, this recipe can be the answer to both!  Cheap eating comfort food at it’s finest!  Plus, by trading pie crust for super easy biscuit dough, it becomes quick enough to whip up on a weeknight. (Though if you want the more traditional version, I have that too)  Dare I even point out that, since your are putting the chicken into the mix when it is already cooked, it would be so easy to swap this for cooked turkey in order to use up some Thanksgiving leftovers!  If your family does roasted potatoes at the Thanksgiving table, you could also swap those leftovers for the fresh potatoes in this recipe, too!  (Just cook the raw vegetables until tender and add the potatoes then, just before you add the broth).

pot-pie-dish

Gluten-Free Biscuit-Topped Chicken Pot Pie

  • 1 batch gluten-free biscuit dough*
  • 1 large chicken breast (or 2 mid-sized chicken thighs), cooked**
  • 1 medium russet potato
  • 1 small-medium sweet potato
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 1 large carrot
  • 1 c. frozen peas
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 3 Tbsp. butter, divided
  • 3 Tbsp. rice flour
  • 3-4 c. chicken broth
  • 1 tsp. poultry seasoning mix***
  • salt & pepper

* My favorite biscuit recipe is from the Blackbird Bakery cookbook, which, fortunately, was shared on Epicurious!

***Or a heaping 1/4 tsp. each: ground sage, ground thyme, and finely minced rosemary

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.  Grease a pie pan or an 8×8 or 9×9 baking dish.

Dice the potatoes, onion, and carrot into medium, equal-sized pieces.  Take a pat from the 3 Tbsp of butter and add the pat of butter to a large saucepan.  Melt over medium heat and then add the potato, sweet potato, onion, and carrot pieces.  Cook the vegetables, stirring occasionally until all the pieces are softened and tender, about 4-7 minutes A fork should easily pierce the potatoes and the onions should be turning translucent.  Chop the chicken into equally-sized pieces and stir into the vegetable mix.  Add the rest of the butter to the pan.  Once melted, add the rice flour and stir occasionally.  Allow the flour and veggie mixture to cook for 3-4 minutes.  Finely mince the garlic clove and add to the pan with the spices, including salt and pepper.  Slowly whisk in the chicken broth, about 1/2 cup at a time, until you have a thick gravy holding all the vegetables.  Add in the frozen peas and remove from heat.

Make the biscuits according to directions, stopping after you have cut the raw dough into biscuits (for cut biscuits) OR right before you are instructed to drop the dough onto a baking sheet (for drop biscuits).  Spoon the gravy-veggie mixture into your prepared pan, leaving almost a inch of space from the rim of the pan.  Top the mixture with a biscuits and bake for 12-15 minutes.  Allow the pie to sit for 5-10 minutes before serving (it will be hot!) and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

