Weekly Grocery Budget Update

Another check-in for my adherence to our weekly grocery budget!  As I mentioned last week, I am trying to recommit to a $50 budget for our food each week.  Strict adherence would leave us with a little more money each month, that could definitely be better utilized than being spent on food we don’t need.  (Our landfill, I’m sure, would appreciate that too!)  I’m doing most of my shopping at Aldi, in order to make this budget achievable, though I’ll also use Giant, Trader Joe’s, and even our local Asian grocery store to pick up those extra items that Aldi doesn’t carry.

This week we have a few repeat meals.  In spite of my meal planning, we had two (awesome) evenings with friends that changed our meals and then, while making last week’s meal plan, I had totally forgotten that M and I signed up for a home-buying class that provided dinner.  (Everybody chill, we are just in the most initial stages of trying to learn anything about looking for and purchasing a home…)  So Wednesday-Friday’s meals mostly rolled over to this week.

It felt a little harder to stick to the budget this week.  For one, I got the week’s “special recovery item” added to our produce box, which took a few bucks from my shopping money.  But, it was fresh turmeric root!  It freezes well, so we are in stock for turmeric lattes and indian dishes for a long time.  I also had to stock up on a couple condiments, which eats up money quickly.  Those losses definitely made me feel more constricted.

Here is the breakdown:

groceries-1-29-2-4

Hungry Harvest Produce Box: 1 romaine heart, 1 (large) head cauliflower, 1 grapefruit, 1 tomato, 2 oranges, 1 red onion, 1/2 lb. green beans, 1 (giant) spaghetti squash, 3 sweet potatoes, and 1 lb. of turmeric ($5 additional) for a total of $20.00

From Aldi: parmesan cheese, tomato paste, cheddar cheese, 1 lb. sausages, cucumber, green onions, 1 lb. salmon, tomato sauce, hot sauce, Caesar dressing, dijon mustard, turkey deli meat, ham deli meat, bread,  and sugar (for my kombucha!)

Other sources: fresh ginger and coconut milk (Giant), eggs (my mother’s coworker)

I totally forgot to grab my receipt at Aldi, but it was about $31.  $4 of that was restocking on Ziplock bags, so the $2 and change spent at Giant should put me right on the $30 line to stay on target this week.

In terms of usage, we will definitely have the whole spaghetti squash plus some of the sweet potatoes and cauliflower remaining at the end of the week.  The cheddar and deli meats and bread will stretch into next week, as will the green onions, 8 oz of the salmon, most of the sausage, and the condiments (obviously).  My bone broth is finished, and I got the 3 quarts that I was hoping for!  And my kombucha should be ready for it’s bottling and second fermentation this week, as  well.

Meal Plan for January 29-February 4

Sunday: Beef Koftas with Tabouleh, Carrot Salad, Smoky Eggplant Dip, Baked Feta, Pickled Onions, & Gluten-free Naan bread This is basically last Thursday’s meal, except that this week’s addition of tomato and cucumber allowed me to make a quinoa tabouleh.  I also unearthed half a block of Feta from our freezer, and had time on the weekend to mix up a batch of homemade naan using pantry ingredients.  That turned it into a regular feast!

Monday: Honey-Sriracha Cauliflower “Wings” and Caesar Salad  I love baking cauliflower florets and treating them like chicken wings!  My latest obsession is Honey-Sriracha sauce, which uses similar ratios as buffalo sauce, but has way more depth of flavor   Our contribution to the Super Bowl parties will like be Homemade Honey-Sriracha Chicken Wings.  Half of that giant head of cauliflower will give us enough for dinner and lunch the next day.  I will rice up the remainder of the cauliflower and stick it in the freezer for later.

Tuesday: Ham & Cheese Crepes  M will be out and I’ll be working late, so a half batch of my gluten-free crepes wrapped around some lunch meat and cheese will be tasty and quick to throw together when I get home.

Wednesday: Taco Soup in the Crockpot From last Wednesday’s plan.  I have class and M works late.  All he’ll have to do is shred the chicken in the crockpot and this soup will be good to go!

Thursday: Sesame-Ginger Salmon with Green Beans and Sweet Potato One of my resolutions is to eat more fish this year–I’m starting off aiming for every other week.  Since M isn’t a huge fan of shrimp and I’m less experienced working with fish, it always takes more of a commitment.  But, I found a lot of inspiration from Pinterest, so I’ll give it a go!

Friday: Thai Chicken Enchiladas One of my favorites!  I realized that I didn’t pick up cabbage at the store, which I usually use to bulk up the meat…I’ll have to get creative!  We somehow ended up with three different bottles of Sweet Chili Sauce in our pantry, so this recipe will help to cut down on that.

Saturday: Leftovers/Pasta I try to remember to incorporate a flexible night into our meal plans, so we have a chance to use up any leftovers that aren’t finished through our lunches each week.

Breakfast & LunchBreakfast will be oatmeal, fruit smoothies, or eggs.  Lunches will be dinner leftovers or sandwiches.

One Comment on “Weekly Grocery Budget Update”

  1. […] them!  This is perhaps why I now have a little under a pound of fresh turmeric root in my freezer.  That’s another story.  But the short version is that it came in my produce box.  And my sister also got some and asked […]


Leave a Reply

