Weekly Grocery Budget Update Feb 4-11

Here we are again, checking out my weekly grocery budget.  I did pretty well for week 3.  I’ll admit, I wasn’t feeling very enthused about meal-planning this week.  Our produce box had a lot of items, but not very interesting ones.  When everything was plotted out in my meal plan, there wasn’t too much to buy, so I could use some of this week’s budget on stock-up items.  We also need to eat down our freezer a little, so I am trying to pull bits and pieces from that stock for the next few weeks.

In addition to eating more fish, I also want us to incorporate more bone broth into our diets.  I’m trying to have soup every week–an easy use of the bone broth and (usually) quite a cheap option for dinner!  I am recent(ish) soup convert.  It was never something I enjoyed growing up, until around high school when I made myself learn to like tomato basil soup.  Some of my favorite kinds have already graced this blog: tomato basil, French onion, Italian Peasant soup, Pot Pie soup… I am excited to try a couple of new ideas in the coming weeks, as well!groceries-feb-4-feb-11

I did very well shopping this week (and remembered my receipts!)  Nothing beyond our usual produce box, so that clocked in at $15.  I had to go to our local Asian grocery store to grab the gochujang, but that, along with my Aldi purchases, came out to $34.44!  So here is this week’s breakdown of our $49.44 grocery haul:

groceries-pic-feb-4-feb-11

Hungry Harvest Produce Box: 1 leek, 1 orange, 1 grapefruit, 1 “yellow” tomato, 2 (large) potatoes, red onion, 1 yellow squash, 1 zucchini, 1/2 lb grapes, 1 pint cherry tomatoes, 1 cabbage, 2 bell peppers

Aldi: 1.5 lb chicken wings, 4.25 lb bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs (bones & skin will be saved up for the next batch of bone broth!), 2 packages of frozen spinach, eggs (my mother is out of town this week–none from her coworker), garlic, 2 lb carrots, white wine (for cooking & occasional drinking), half & half, butter, plain yogurt, sour cream, and gluten-free bread

Other:  gochujang (Korean hot pepper paste) from the Asian grocery store

I think it’s so interesting to see how my $35 goes each week.  This is pitiful compared to the first week, when most was fruit and veg.  It does go to show just how expensive animal products, be it meat or dairy or eggs, are and how quickly they add up!  Thankfully, these will all stretch for a few weeks!

The only items that will be entirely used up this week are the leek, potatoes, cabbage, fruit, chicken wings, and maybe bread–depending on how many sandwiches we go through.  I am not touching the tomatoes, squash/zucchini, peppers, chicken thighs, spinach, or half & half, but I will use them next week!  I see creamed spinach, swedish meatballs, and my (hidden veggie) surprise muffins on the horizon.

Here is this week’s meal plan:

Sunday: Honey-Sriracha Wings & Jalapeño Popper Dip (And Rocky Road Brownies)  We stayed home, but I still wanted the Super Bowl snack food!  I’m currently obsessed with these wings–I shared the recipe on instagram.  I also realized that I could cobble together a jalapeño popper dip from the bits of cream cheese & cheddar cheese in our fridge, plus a few of our home-grown jalapeños from the freezer!  I wanted a little dessert too, and brownies are one of the most pantry-friendly desserts out there.

Monday: Loaded Potato, Leek, & Cauliflower Soup   Here is the rest of last week’s cauliflower!  Simmer in broth with the potatoes and leeks from this week’s produce box, then blended up with a little milk and the last of our cream.  I topped mine with a little sour cream, cheese, crumbled bacon, and chopped scallions.  Plus, there’s enough leftovers to last for several lunches!

Tuesday: Leftovers  I work late.  M is out.  I’m sure there will be soup waiting for me.

Wednesday: Stuffed Acorn Squash   M is cooking while I go to class.  We have acorn squash left from boxes from weeks ago, that he’s stuffing with rice, vegetables, maybe some sausage, and other odds and ends from the fridge.

Thursday: Out  I’m out with friends.  M can do leftovers or something quick for himself.

FridayCheeseburgers with cole slaw and sweet potato fries  Those hamburger buns are taking up valuable freezer space!  This dish will use up the cabbage and some carrots in the slaw, with sweet potatoes from last week, and ground beef from the freezer.

Saturday: Pasta or Spaghetti Squash   Keeping things simple after my long day at work!

Breakfasts: eggs, yogurt & fruit, toast, or oatmeal

Lunches: Leftovers or sandwiches with more fruit

Leave a Reply

