Turmeric Lattes (Golden Milk Lattes): 3 Ways

title

Alright, confession time.  I pronounce (some) words strangely.  These days, its only really noticeable in my emphasis on “tt” when it shows up in the middle of words.  Kitten.  Mitten.  Button…  But I also said “pint” with a short ‘i’ sound for a little while and went through a phase with too much emphasis on the ‘w’s in words like sword and dwarf.  My family will still tease me about it, occasionally.  I was a kid who read A LOT (like, a chapter book a day… rereading Harry Potter books 1-3 over 30 times during the year before Goblet of Fire was published…yeah…)  So I had a fairly large collection of words that I was most familiar with seeing.  So, I tended to pronounce things as the y looked.  I mean, obviously there are two T’s for a reason, am I right?

3-latte-top

Anyways, I’ve noticed now that I am an adult, I’ve picked up a bad habit of dropping or even changing letters.  I think it, again, comes from reading the words so often (on blogs, etc), except that I am a little too lazy and just presume a word instead of actually paying attention.  So here’s the actual confession:  Even though I have heard it said and I know that the “R” is there…I say too-meric.  I also say xanthUM gum, and in my earlier recipes, have often written in with an M instead of an N.  That one was more surprising when I realized my mistake.  I’ve been aware of my turmeric error forever, but I just can’t seem to shake my bad pronunciation.

Have you tried turmeric lattes (also known as “golden milk” lattes) yet?

chai-tur-concentrate

They sounded super comforting when I first heard about them and (no surprise to my spice-loving self) I love them!  This is perhaps why I now have a little under a pound of fresh turmeric root in my freezer.  That’s another story.  But the short version is that it came in my produce box.  And my sister also got some and asked me what I did with it.  So, I came up with a few different versions of a turmeric latte to share with you today!  Plus, it gave me an excuse to make designs with spices on my marble cutting board.  Hello, beautiful!

chai-tea-spices

The Quick Way (Turmeric Latte)-Or when you just have dried, powdered turmeric

  • 1/2 tsp. ground turmeric
  • 1/4 tsp. ground ginger
  • hefty pinch ground black pepper
  • 1-2 tsp honey
  • 1/4 tsp./a splash of vanilla extract(optional)
  • 1 c. milk*

*dairy or non-dairy–I love almond milk in these lattes

Heat the milk in the microwave.  In ours, it takes about 2 minutes to get piping hot, but not scalded.  While the milk is heating, add all spices, honey, and vanilla extract, if using, to your coffee mug.  Mix well to form a paste.  Add a splash of hot milk and stir until the paste is incorporated into the liquid.  Add remaining milk, give it all a stir, and enjoy!

The Slow Way (Turmeric Tea Concentrate)Or when you have fresh/frozen turmeric root

  • 4 Tbsp. turmeric root, grated
  • 1/2 inch slice of ginger root, split into a few pieces
  • 3 c. water
  • hefty pinch ground black pepper
  • 1-2 tsp honey
  • 1/4 tsp./a splash of vanilla extract (optional)
  • milk of choice

Add grated turmeric root and ginger slices to a small pot with the water.  Bring to a boil, turn off heat and allow to steep until water cools (at least 1 hour).  If possible, I usually transfer it all to a jar, cover, and let it steep overnight.  Strain the water from the roots and keep the concentrate in the fridge for up to two weeks.  When ready to serve, heat equal parts turmeric tea and milk of choice.  In coffee mug, mix honey, vanilla extract, if using, and ground pepper.  Add the milk mixture, stir thoroughly, and enjoy!

The Twist (Turmeric Chai Tea Concentrate)–Or when you don’t want a ton of turmeric

  • 2-3 Tbsp turmeric root, grated*
  • 3/4 inch of ginger root, sliced
  • 5 whole cardamom pods
  • 3 whole cloves
  • 2 star anise
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1/4 tsp. fennel seeds
  • 3 whole allspice
  • hefty pinch of freshly ground nutmeg (or 1/4 tsp. ground)
  • 1 tsp. ground black pepper (or a few whole peppercorns)
  • 4 black tea bags (regular or decaf, depending on when you favor your lattes)
  • 3 c. water
  • 1-2 tsp honey
  • 1/4 tsp./a splash of vanilla extract (optional)
  • milk of choice

*or 1-2 tsp ground, dried turmeric

Add grated turmeric root, ginger slices, and all spices (whole or ground) to a small pot with the water.  Bring to a boil, turn off heat and allow to steep until water cools (at least 1 hour).  If possible, I usually transfer it all to a jar, cover, and let it steep overnight.  Strain the water from the spices and keep the concentrate in the fridge for up to two weeks.  When ready to serve, heat equal parts turmeric tea and milk of choice (usually 1/2 cup of each).  In coffee mug, mix honey and vanilla extract, if using.  Add the milk mixture, stir thoroughly, and enjoy!

One Comment on “Turmeric Lattes (Golden Milk Lattes): 3 Ways”

  1. Kathryn Cookson says:

    Momma brought whole cardamom pods from Belize! Be sure to get some next time you stop by!


Leave a Reply

