Weekly Grocery Budget & Meal Plan for February 19-25

I scored majorly this week!  We had a very good produce box this week, even creating one of those serendipitous moments of including a cauliflower and potatoes for the week when I was toying with the idea of Aloo Gobi (Indian Cauliflower & Potato Curry)!  I am still really digging Asian–type flavors this week.  Plus, after finding out that Aldi stock’s gluten-free imitation crab, I knew I would also be making California rolls.  Super exciting!

Once the box was confirmed and I was making my list for the store, I knew I was going to have a fair amount of extra money left over…it turned out to be around $11, so I able to spend NINE DOLLARS to stock up on a 5+ pound pork butt!  That is the toughest thing about this $50 budget–that there is rarely ever enough remaining money to cover those bigger cuts of meat (that are actually quite cheap in terms of dollars-per-pound, but still require a slightly steep investment up front).  Believe me, I am trying to get creative with how I save up for them–maybe I’ll tuck the changes away each week until it builds to $10-$15.  Either way, by using our pantry a lot this week, I did manage to squeeze in the pork butt (and a treat: potato chips!)  I’ve already portioned the pork into 3 different 1.75 lb bags in the freezer.  You can bet that Citrus Pork Chilaquiles from Ashley‘s Date Night In Cookbook will be on the menu next week.**   The other ingredients with be a little bit of an investment–things like orange juice, avocado, tortilla chips, and queso fresco with run me between $1-$2 a piece at Aldi.  But I will get creative with the rest of the week’s meals in order to make it work because these chilaquiles are HEA. VEN. LY!

If you are careful with your pantry items and invest in spices, there is absolutely no reason to boring, flavor-lacking food when you are eating on a budget.  As you may noticed, M and I favor super bold cuisines: Thai, Mexican, Indian and eat dishes from those cuisines fairly often!  Spices are the absolutely key to keeping things interesting!  I’ve found that cheap spices can be found in the “Mexican/Asian” aisle of regular Giants.  They have very cheap bottles of garlic powder, oregano, cilantro, etc and even had little baggies with a couple whole star anise or a few whole nutmegs for like $2!  Check it out, and try to put together a few dollars towards spices every other week–you will soon be on your way to a flexible and useful spice cabinet!

**This is not a paid endorsement at all.  M got me the book for Christmas two years ago and I just love it!  The chilaquiles is our absolute favorite recipe…with Basil Mint Bourbon Jubilees coming in close behind!

img_6837

This week’s tally:

  • Hungry Harvest Produce Box:  $16.50 (added on the grapefruits)
  • Aldi: $27.75
  • Lotte Asian Market: $5.28
  • Total: $49.53  (If I hadn’t had those stock up/splurge items, we would have barely cracked $35 this week!)

This week’s groceries:

img_6834

Hungry Harvest Box: 2 grapefruits (add on), 1 red onion, 0.5 lb brussels sprouts, 3 apples, 1  head of organic cauliflower, 1 pint cherry tomatoes, butter lettuce, 1 mango, 1.5 lb fingerling potatoes.

Lotte Asian Market: whole lemongrass, fresh cilantro, fresh parsley, 2 lbs sushi rice

Aldi: dried cranberries (stock up), 1.5 lb pork tenderloin, 5.12 lbs pork butt (stock up), chips (splurge), cucumber, 5 lbs potatoes (stock up-forgot about the fingerlings in HH box), avocado, diced tomatoes, milk, sriracha (stock up), cooking spray, imitation crabmeat

Here is how we are eating this week:

Sunday: Paneer Masala, Aloo Gobi, Coconut-Creamed Spinach, & Rice   I’ll be making the paneer with that gallon of milk and some lemon juice!  It is so simple and I should get between 12-18 oz of cheese for about $1.50.  I’ll cook down a masala sauce with the tomatoes, some spices, and some of the half-n-half from two weeks ago.  The spinach is from two weeks ago and the coconut milk is from last week’s grocery trip.  The veggies from the box will pair with spices for the Aloo Gobi and we purchased a huge 15 lb bag of rice ages ago, that we have been slowly working our way through.

Monday: I’m out late with meetings for my internship.  I will probably grab something on the run.

Tuesday: Leftovers  M is out and I work late.  I’ll eat leftovers or some scrambled eggs when I get home.

Wednesday: Pork Tenderloin, Roasted Brussels Sprouts, & Fingerling Potatoes with Mojo Verde sauce  M will be cooking while I’m in class.  Mojo Verde will someday make it up here on the blog–it’s similar to chimichurri.  An herby sauce with cilantro, parsley, garlic, vinegar, and all sorts of tasty stuff!

Thursday: Sushi! A big old batch of rice will get rolled into California Rolls, veggie rolls, maybe I’ll even break out the shrimp if I’m feeling fancy!  Check out my last post for a step-by-step guide to rolling sushi!

Friday: Larb Gai  I’ll mince up some chicken thighs with the freezer and sauté them with my pantry items (fish sauce, lime juice, etc) and cilantro and serve with the red onion and butter lettuce for a light dinner.

Saturday: Odds and Ends Whatever I’m feeling like.  I know I need to use up the eggplant and do something with tomatoes!  We will still have chicken thighs and a few sausages in the freezer, if I want some meat.

Breakfasts will be eggs or oatmeal or fruit and toast.  Lunches will be leftovers or sandwiches using the roast beef from last week!

Leave a Reply

