Grocery Budget & Meal Plan for Feb. 26-Mar. 4

I am having a pretty great Sunday, how about you?

My crazy balancing act of work-homework-internship-housework-social life actually stayed in check this week!  After work yesterday, I managed to come home and finish my homework, which took a huge weight off of my shoulders.  Since Sundays are my only day off of work each week, they tend to be filled with all of my catch-up tasks.  More often than I’d like, this means most of my homework, all of the cleaning and laundry, and meal prepping.  I never actually get through my To-Do list on Sundays, and–this year, especially–it leaves me totally stressed out.  I am trying to develop evening routines that break up my housework into manageable, small tasks each day, but this has been a really tough habit for me to develop.  In fact, it’s only the dream of someday having a Sunday with actual downtime that keeps me  at that habit.

I didn’t get much cleaning done during this week, but I did reorganize our bookshelves to make room for my cookbooks, so that I have more food storage space on top of our pantry. (Mostly because I found copper-trimmed mason jars to store my beans and lentils and they were not getting shown off as they deserved!)  But getting my homework out of the way was just enough to remove the stress!  My to-do list today was super manageable, and I even was able to tackle a few extraneous tasks that have been bugging me–like reorganizing our linen closet and cleaning my desk!  I had a little downtime when I went to my mother’s to pick up eggs and all in all, today has been industrious, yet satisfying!

I do have a confession to make, though: I was over budget this week. 😦  By exactly $0.50 and that was only tax, but over my $50, just the same.  However, I went over budget by grabbing a whole chicken for $5.04, so it was totally worth it!  I will get at least three meals out of that chicken, plus having all the bones to make another batch of bone broth.  I also have a quiche in the oven right now, which is another one of my favorite cheap “stretch” dishes.  Normally, a few eggs, several slices of bacon, and a cup or so of veggies would possibly stretch to 2, maybe 3 breakfasts for M and I (if I’m stingy with the bacon and we add some toast into the equation).  Theses same ingredients, mix with a little milk or cream and tipped into a pie crust, will give me 8 hearty servings!  Add some roasted potatoes or other vegetables alongside to mix up these leftovers for lunch or dinner!

receipt

Here is the breakdown for this week:

Hungry Harvest Produce Box: $15.00

Aldi: $35.50

Total: $50.50

This week’s groceries:

groceries

HH Produce Box: 2 zucchini, 1 lb. tiny onions, 3 tangelos, broccoli, kale, 1 orange, 1.5 lbs red potatoes, and sugar snap peas.

Aldi: bacon, whole chicken, butter, cottage cheese, garlic, queso fresco, cucumber, frozen orange juice concentrate, tortilla chips, swiss cheese, onions, lime, avocados, pasta, white vinegar, bread, cilantro

Plus 8 eggs from my mother’s chicken hook-up. 😉 And here is how we are using this week’s groceries:

Sunday: Turkey & Broccoli Quiche with roasted Potatoes  A couple of eggs, the last of the half-n-half from a few weeks ago, some of the bacon, butter in the crust, half the swiss cheese, an onion, plus turkey & broccoli from the freezer.  And some of last week’s potatoes.

Monday: Pasta Primavera using the pasta, some of last week’s milk, the remaining parmesan from 4 weeks ago, some of the garlic, zucchini, snap peas, kale, and broccoli from this week, plus some peas from the freezer, and red peppers from our box a few weeks ago.

Tuesday: Leftovers/Crepes  I am hoping to get my act together to make crepes for Fat Tuesday, but, worse-comes-to-worst, I know there will be some quiche left (which is not bad at all!)

Wednesday: Out at M’s mum’s house  I’m not sure what we are doing for dinner.

Thursday: Citrus-Braised Pork Chilaquiles + Avocado Salad from Date Night In   I’ve already talked about how much we love this cookbook and these chilaquiles.  I stocked up on the pork last week, but I’ll use the orange juice, cilantro, tortilla chips, onions, lime, garlic, queso fresco, and avocados from this week, plus bone broth from the freezer.

Friday: Citrus-Braised Pork sandwiches with quick cucumber pickles and roasted potatoes with broccoli   Definitely making enough pork for a second dish.  We have a lot of GF hamburger buns taking up valuable freezer space, so I’ll use up a couple of those.  With that cucumber running me $0.29, these quick vinegar pickles will be the cheapest topping that I make all week!  Plus, I’ll use up more of last week’s potatoes and the rest of the broccoli.

Saturday: French Onion Panade with Kale Salad  This panade is like the best part of French Onion Soup.  It even has the same flavors, you just lessen the amount of broth and up the amount of bread to make a sort of savory bread pudding.  I’ll use up all of those tiny onions, the rest of the swiss cheese, the last of my bone broth (a new batch will be started this week), and some GF sourdough bread that I unearthed from the freezer.  The salad will use up more of the kale, plus some of the cranberries from last week and whatever cheese is left!

Breakfasts will be eggs, toast, oatmeal, or cottage cheese with fruit. Lunches will be leftovers or sandwiches with the deli roast beef from a few weeks ago, plus the remainder of the sugar snap peas from our box.  I am going to try to get my act together to make a batch of zucchini muffins as well, which will supplement breakfast or snacking!

One Comment on “Grocery Budget & Meal Plan for Feb. 26-Mar. 4”

  1. […] Slaw using some reserved, pre-cooked pork from the freezer.  I saved some when I made Chilaquiles a few weeks ago, so I’ll pickle some of that red onion for serving, along with the avocados and some […]


Leave a Reply

