Budget Update & Meal Plan for March 19-25

I’ve gotten so much more careful with my food use since I started holding us to this tight budget.  I’m trying to be clever and creative so that all leftovers get eaten and every food item is stretched to provide the most sustenance for us.  This makes it much more upsetting when I encounter a crack in my plans…like when the last of the milk has gone sour, right on the day I was meant to use it up in cornbread muffins.  😦  Thankfully, I had enough sour cream, half-in-half, and–yes–water to make up for the milk in the recipe.  But it was still disappointing.  I knew it was nearing it’s turning point, and I purposefully moved the muffins up in my meal plan in order to use up the milk before it soured.  But my timing was still off.

As I said, I did still manage to make corn muffins, so not too much is lost, except for a little milk down the drain.  But it is interesting to see my thought process and values changing as we adjust to this new budget.  I’m accepting almost everything that is offered to me.  I’m certainly not begging, but I find myself taking advantage when I can.  My mom’s been collecting pieces in Safeway’s monopoly game, and she has handed a few of the “free item” coupons over to me when she doesn’t plan to use them.  I got a free avocado a few weeks ago and a box of English Breakfast Tea today.  Even though they are minor, it’s a nice little treat to get something that I wasn’t able to fit into the budget.  We aren’t eating poorly, or even boringly, but it’s nice to have an unexpected item to round out my meal plans every once in a while.

Officially, we don’t really have to follow this budget anymore.  I started this strict budget this year because I was feeling the pressure from a new medical bill.  My tax return this year was enough to cover it and, as of today, it is paid off in full.  But, I think I will stick to the plan for a while longer.  If I used to average about $70 per grocery trip last year, I should free up almost $100 a month as I continue to follow this budget.  It will be nice to properly and methodically save for some short-term goals, and I intend to do just that!  So, our $50 weekly budget will continue.  I think the smaller amount of money we can adjust to living on, the better.

I have to admit, I am still torn on bread.  It is tough to see almost 1/7 of my spending money go towards a loaf almost every week ($4 seems like an awful lot when you are only working with $35).  I tried to get into the routine of gluten-free sourdough, with which I had moderate success. But it eats up so much flour in order to strengthen the starter, and we don’t have quite enough time, nor eat enough baked goods to eat up the discard starter.  So it felt very wasteful, in flour and in money.  My non-sourdough loaves are nice for a change of pace, but don’t make for good sandwich bread (which is where most of the store-bought goes each week: into M’s lunchbox).  So for now, it is a price I have to adjust to, and one of the facts we have to live with, being gluten-intolerant.  The quality and price of gluten-free products is so much better than it used to be, but it is something that I have to contend with each week.  Thankfully, I’ve mostly forgotten how gluten-full products and prices compare.  So as long  as I avoid looking at those prices, it doesn’t get to me very much!

Here is my spending this week:

receipts

Hungry Harvest Box: $15.00

Aldi: $30.29

Trader Joe’s: $3.99

Total: $49.28

Here’s what we got:

groceries

(It looks like a lot this week.)

Hungry Harvest Produce Box: 1 pint grape tomatoes, 1 head (local!) lettuce, 2 bell peppers, 1 lb red potatoes, 1 mango, 4 plums, 2 pears, 1/2 bunch green onions, 4 apples*, and 5 oranges*

*We requested not to get the eggplant this week and the apples AND the oranges were substituted in for it!  Makes me wonder how big that eggplant was, in order to equal 9 pieces of fruit?!

Aldi: 1.2 lb ground turkey, 5 lb chicken thighs ($0.69 per pound!), yogurt, sour cream, turkey lunch meat, white vinegar, cabbage, sliced almonds, white sugar, gluten-free bread, 2 lb carrots, red wine, 2 cans dice tomatoes, korma simmer sauce, and 1 can of chickpeas

Trader Joe’s: gluten-free rolled oats

And here is how we are eating this week:

Sunday: Turkey Chili + Cornbread Muffins Turkey was cheaper than beef, so it will get a splash  of worchestershire sauce to deepen the flavor, plus onion, diced tomatoes, carrots, and bell pepper.  I found a packet of GF chili seasoning in the pantry, which I use along with a little hot sauce to kick things up.  One the day we moved into our apartment, M’s mum made a big crockpot of chili for everyone, with chickpeas and fresh tomatoes.  It was SO GOOD (probably because we had just moved an entire apartment’s worth of furniture in a snowstorm), so I am adding the chickpeas to call back to that.  The cornbread muffins were primarily a way to use up our milk, but, as mentioned, plans had to change.  Thankfully, Aldi only has 16 oz sour creams, so I had enough to put into the muffins and still have enough for a dollop on the chili when serving.

Monday: Singapore Street Noodles with Tofu using the rest of last week’s tofu, along with some peppers, cabbage, carrots, and green onions.  This is the last of our stockpile of rice noodles from the pantry, and we still have plenty of sauce ingredients (tamari, etc) in the fridge.

Tuesday: Leftovers  M’s out.  More chili for me!

Wednesday: Crockpot Chicken Korma with Rice using the rest of last week’s fingerling potatoes, the rest of the bell peppers, some carrots and chicken.  I could have saved about $0.20 by getting a can of coconut milk and making the sauce myself with spices from the pantry, but I decided that my time was worth the $0.20 and grabbed this jar of pre-made korma sauce.

Thursday: Coq Au Vin with Mashed Red Potatoes I love Tieghen’s recipe, though I’m not putting that much butter into my potatoes this time around.  I’ll use the last of the sweet potatoes from a few weeks ago.

Friday: Chicken Caesar Salad I’m slightly risking the green lettuce by waiting until Friday, but this is the perfect simple dinner to whip up after my longer class.  Parmesan from last week and dressing from a few weeks ago.

Saturday: Leftovers/Pasta Whatever is scrounge-able!

I’m making a big batch of homemade granola and I’m saving the liquid from the chickpeas to try my hand at aquafaba meringues for the first time.  Wish me luck!

Breakfasts will be granola+yogurt+fruit or eggs+fruit.  Lunches are leftovers or sandwiches, along with more fruit and cucumbers left over from last week.  The sugar and vinegar is for my home-brewed kombucha, which is giving us about 80 oz a week for the cost of a couple teabags, a cup of sugar, and a few tablespoons of vinegar!

Leave a Reply

