Budget Update & Meal Plan for March 26-April 1

This is the first week in my long stretch of tech weeks/internship weeks that will have me getting home later and be major shifts in my usual schedule.  I’m planning to do a lot more  meals in the slow cooker, and also batch cook when I can–for instance, I cooked up twice the amount of chicken thighs when I was making Coq Au Vin last Friday.  While half the batch stewed in the wine sauce, I just  set the rest in a skillet, cooking plain.  Without much extra effort, I had cooked chicken for our Caesar Salads last night and I still have some cooked chicken for tonight’s quesadillas.  It makes dinner comes together in a matter of minutes!  These next few weeks are going to be focused on simple, quick dinners that can give us lots of lunch leftovers.

I am also recognizing that simple, but flavorful might mean relying on some more prepared ingredients, like the beans in tomato sauce on this week’s plan.   I could have made a sauce and added beans and simmered and all that…or I can open a can and heat the contents for an equally tasty dinner.  It’s all about keeping the balance.  Sometimes, that balance requires a little compromise in the form of extra cost, but, thankfully, not this week!  I was delighted to be able to fit a serious stock-up into this week’s budget.  Getting most of our groceries from our local asian market allowed me to keep the extra few dollars to get tamarin, rice vinegar, and sesame oil!  Just like dairy products, all of my specialty sauces seem to run out at the same time.  These ingredients are easy to stretch and asian dishes are usually easy and quick to cook!  I expect to see a lot of wok-ed stir fries, curries, and noodles on our meal plans for the next couple of weeks.  I also was able to grab a package of rice noodles, although we won’t even touch them this week.  Several other items, like the sour cream, cheese, onions, and sausage will even stretch into next week as well.

On Monday, we are seeing my mother and sister while M tries out his Bulgogi recipe.  Since we are feeding 5 people, we allowed a portion of the meal to come out of another budget.  We have rice in the pantry, and I included most of the accompanying vegetables and sauce ingredients into our normal $50 budget, but the meat will be paid for through our ‘splurge’ fund.  Also, Saturday is an extra long day.  I’ll know that I will be out and about at dinnertime.  We should have enough leftovers for me to bring, or I should be able to make a sandwich as well, but I may just pick up food along the way.

I’m excited to use a few new products this week: most specifically those Giant Baked Beans.  The last time that I was in Trader Joe’s, they actually had a truly gluten-free sample: these beans paired with sausage.  It was delicious and I’m excited to recreate it at home.  I love cassoulet-type dishes, with sausage and beans, and I think it will be a perfect scoop on top of polenta!  When on a budget, grains/carb-y stretches like potatoes are a necessity, in order to keep meals affordable, yet filling.  I’m doing my best to keep our carb sources varied, hence the addition of polenta.  We are also on a serious tofu kick around here.  I finally found an extra-firm variety at our asian market, so that saved me about $0.80 off of purchasing it from Trader Joe’s or Giant (my Aldi still does not carry tofu).

Here is how we spent this week:

receipts

Hungry Harvest Produce Box: $15.00

Lotte Asian Market: $17.46

Aldi: $11.13

Trader Joe’s: $6.12

Total: $49.71

Here’s what we got:

groceries 3.26

Hungry Harvest Box:  2 ears corn, broccoli, 1 red onion, 2 (small) avocados, 2 apples, 3 yellow squash, 2 peppers, 1/2 lb kale

Lotte Asian Market: red lettuce, coconut milk, green onions, 3 lbs onions, sesame oil, tamarin, rice vinegar, rice noodles, bananas, tofu

Aldi: cheddar cheese, italian sausage, gluten-free bread, sour cream

Trader Joe’s: polenta, 2 cans Giant Baked Beans

And here’s how we’ll use it:

Sunday: Chicken & Roasted Veggie Quesadillas with Corn Salad and Mango using some chicken thighs from last week, plus one of the peppers and one of the onions and some of the broccoli, chopped up with the cheese in tortillas from the pantry.  We have the sour cream for topping.  I’ll use last week’s tomatoes and this week’s corn and a little onion in a salad with a basic pantry vinaigrette, plus we have last week’s mango as a sweet finish to the meal.

Monday: Bulgogi with Rice & Lettuce Wraps  We’ll be at my mom’s, as I mentioned.  We’ll bring the lettuce and green onions, and use the asian sauces + onions in the marinade on Monday morning.

Tuesday: Sausage and Giant Beans in Tomato Sauce over Polenta, with Kale Salad  as mentioned, some of the sausage and all of the beans will be a topping for seared polenta rounds.  I’ll also make our favorite kale salad with another basic pantry vinaigrette, with some bread crumbs, and some parmesan, dried cranberries, and sliced almonds from the pantry.

Wednesday: Veggie + Tofu Curry and Rice  using up the rest of the broccoli, pepper, and yellow squash, along with some onions, the tofu, the coconut milk and some rice and curry paste from the pantry.

Thursday: Citrus-Braised Pork Tacos with Slaw using some reserved, pre-cooked pork from the freezer.  I saved some when I made Chilaquiles a few weeks ago, so I’ll pickle some of that red onion for serving, along with the avocados and some tortillas from the pantry.  Again, I’ll use some pantry ingredients to make up a dressing for the rest of last week’s cabbage, to make a cole slaw.

Friday: Leftovers using up whatever remains from the week!

Saturday: Leftovers/Out

Breakfasts will be eggs+toast, yogurt+granola+fruit, or peanut butter & banana smoothies.  Lunches are mostly leftovers or sandwiches.

Leave a Reply

