Budget Update and Meal Plan for April 2-8

Hectic week #1 is over!  We only had carryout food twice and I only cried once.  😉  But honestly, I know that I have to work on not letting stress get the best of me.  This week was just another reminder of the work that I still have to do towards stress management.  I also have to recognize and foresee how I will react in stressful situations.  It’s usually the same, so I shouldn’t be so surprised: I don’t feel like (or don’t have time for) cooking and I crave comfort foods.  And let’s be real for a second…  no matter where I go on this food journey of mine, I am always going to have a weakness for (Utz) cheese puffs and boxed macaroni and cheese (pro tip: Trader Joe’s GF version is the closest in taste to Kraft…I did a very careful study! 😉 ).  So yes, my cravings often include the totally expected: burgers, fries, chips– and the not so expected: chicken tikka masala, sushi rice, anything with rice noodles, etc.  So my main goal right now is to save money.  Even if that means the occasional convenience-type food.

So, I am trying to prepare better for my next crazy week.  And that means even faster foods and calling back to those comfort-food cravings.  Being able to grab from the freezer and have food ready in 15 minutes will be my only chance to avoid just giving in and spending money on expensive fast food meal.  Thankfully, this week is pretty normal (although M and I are on opposite schedules) so I get a little peace for the next seven days, as well as a chance to spread out my stocking-up over a few grocery trips.  I finally had a spare dollar or two, to add to my change from a few weeks ago, so I could get some cashews!  I’ll probably portion them out so that I can grab them for a snack during my late rehearsals.  If I can work in a bag of almonds next trip, I will be in good shape in the snack department!  Part of my quick-food stock up also included frozen fries.  This $2 bag of frozen french fries has almost 3 times the amount that I would get for $2 at a restaurant.  I am aiming to grab a bag of GF chicken tenders next week, in order to have a super-quick meal option available to us and yes, probably a box of mac & cheese, just in case of extreme comfort-food emergencies.

However, this week, things are nice and normal.  We got a pretty good box of produce from our delivery service, which drove my meal-planning, as always.

Here is how I spent:

receipt

Hungry Harvest Box: $15

Aldi: $33.33

Lotte Asian Market: $2.85

Total: $51.18*

*I had $2 stashed from a shopping trip a few weeks ago that was under $50, so I don’t really consider this “over-budget” in a way that is concerning…

Here’s what I got:

groceries

HH Produce Box: 2 pears, 3 tomatoes, 3 tangerines, 1 mango, 2 bell peppers, green onions, 1/2 lb. green beans, 1 pint sugar snap peas, 1/2 bunch collard greens, 3 sweet potatoes

Lotte Asian Market: tofu, 2 artichokes (so happy it is artichoke season again!)

Aldi: Bacon, frozen french fries, organic milk**, GF bread, chicken breasts, 10 lb rice***, olive oil, butter, cashews, brie

+ 18 eggs from my chicken-lady hook-up 😉

**in the most unscientific observation throughout many years, my family and I have noticed that organic milk (specifically Horizon, if its in your budget) keeps much, much longer than the non-organic variety.  I don’t know if its the cardboard vs plastic carton, but since I’ve almost always had to pour out sour milk in the past few weeks when I’ve purchase regular milk, I made room in my budget for the organic variety and will continue to try to do so

***this is the type of stock up that allows us to keep to our $50 budget.  To be eating gluten-free (and not baking our own bread) on this type of stipend, that does require a starch with every dinner, just to make sure that the meat and vegetables can stretch a little further and so we feel full.  We had a 15 lb bag of rice that we have been working our way through for months, and we used the last of it last week.  I knew it would be an investment to pick some up–and I was planning to spend $10 at the Asian market.  Thankfully, I noticed this 10 lb bag for $4 at Aldi right by the register!  That allowed me to grab my artichokes, cashews, and french fries!

And here is what we are eating this week:

Sunday: Teriyaki Chicken, Snow Peas, and Rice a thrown-together sauce using all of my stock-up from last week!  I’ll coat the chicken in a spoonful of cornstarch for some crispiness, too.

Monday: Tofu Pad Thai with Green Beans using the rice noodles from last week and eggs and various sauce ingredients from the fridge.  Plus some cabbage and carrots from weeks past!

Tuesday: Tomato Bruschetta, Steamed Artichokes, & Brie  I’ll make a have batch of my French Bread recipe tomorrow night, to slice up for bruschetta made with the tomatoes and pantry ingredients like balsamic vinegar and dried basil.  Plus some brie, artichokes, and whatever odds and ends we have in the pantry: crackers, dried fruit, carrot sticks, etc.

Wednesday: Leftovers  My class runs late and M is out at work through the evening.  Whatever is left over from the first half of the week!

Thursday: Collards & Bacon Bake, with Roast Sweet Potatoes  Not quite a savory bread pudding and not quite a gratin, I’ll sauté up the collard greens with some bacon, onions, and sourdough bread cubes from the freezer.  Coat all that with a béchamel sauce, top with some cheese and bake along side some sweet potatoes!

Friday: Buffalo Chicken-Stuffed Peppers The remainder of the chicken breast shredded with hot sauce and some cheese, and a little rice, scooped into the peppers.  Possibly with some more sweet potatoes on the side, depending on how we are feeling.

Saturday: Sausage with Pasta Keeping things simple!

Breakfasts will be eggs, fruit, the last of the yogurt, and granola (I’ll make up another batch).  Lunches will be leftovers or turkey sandwiches or hard-boiled eggs.  Snacks are cashews and/or dried fruit.

In terms of my stock up, I won’t touch the french fries, will barely dent the rice, and should have some milk, bacon, cashews, butter, olive oil, and possibly some brie leftover for next week.

Leave a Reply

