Budget Update & Meal Plan for August 26-September 2

This week is one of those weeks that I am reminded why we follow our budget.  Keeping such a low budget week-to-week means that when we reach these weeks where we want to splurge a little, or we have social obligations calling us to go out several times that week, we can usually manage to do so.  Being frugal day-to-day has allowed us to have the extra money to fund busy weeks like this one.  We’ll be out 4 nights this week–one at a barbecue where we will bring dishes to share, and up to three others out at restaurants for various events.

As we get nearer to Fall, my time at our Farmer’s Market grows more and more limited.  Once our Saturday rehearsals begin, I have to be at work early enough that I am not able to get to the Farmer’s Market.  M and I went this week, knowing there was a chance that it could be our last market of the season.  Although my Saturday class don’t begin for another two weeks, it is likely that we will travel for Labor Day weekend and we will be away in NC for the following weekend.  With this in mind, I bargained to spend an extra $20 this week, bringing our budget up to $70, so we could get some favorite items from the market.  Thanks to our produce box, we rarely need any vegetables.  The market’s pickle stall is wonderful, so we grabbed a pint each of Sweet Onion Sriracha Pickles and Pickled Beets, for a total of $9.  I spent another $4.50 on stone fruits, because I’ve been dreaming of cakes+stone fruits.  The small, sweet prune plums will be perfect in a tarte-tatin style cake or clafoutis.  The green plums were new to me, and I still haven’t filled my peach galette craving.

Last week, I tried to make one and my pizza stone cracked into 4 pieces in the oven, effectively destroying the galette along with it.  I’m still not sure what caused it to crack, but it was a very sad day, indeed.  Now I have the peaches to make (and hopefully actually taste) another galette.  My sweet tooth is out of control, so I’ll keep an eye on the fruit throughout the week…if I can spread my baking into next week, I will.

M and I went grocery shopping on our way home from the Farmer’s Market.  The unspent $5 from my Market splurge was spent on chocolate.  Aldi carries European-style chocolate that is a little hard to find in the States, so it is always a temptation when M comes shopping with me.  Knowing that I’d really only be cooking 3-4 meals this week, I planned on Bulgogi’s slightly more expensive beef.  I knew I had room in the budget for it.  The rest of the groceries went to a few ingredients to round out our meals, but mostly to a sorely-needed baking stock up.  We were entirely out of sugar and salt–which falls into a hazy category.  We do use iodized salt in our shakers and in baking, but most of it will actually go into scrubbing our cast iron…which isn’t exactly food, I suppose.  Oh well, the few cents spent on it is fairly negligible.

I won’t get to the cauliflower in this week’s produce box, so I will be making it into cauliflower rice to stash in the freezer.  I’ll also finally be bottling a fresh batch of kombucha (long-neglected over my busy summer), as well as a batch of bone broth from our stash of freezer bones.  I’m still slightly off in terms of my digestion and overall well-being, but I think both of these items will help me feel better!

My classes for grad school start this week.  While I am taking the same number of credits as past semesters, it is spread over three classes.  So I am facing 6 hours of class on Monday afternoons and a Friday class on some weeks as well.  I’ve finally passed the halfway point and will be graduating at the end of next year or in the Spring of 2019.  It seems both very far away, but also fairly close.  Hopefully I can keep everything in balance this semester.

Here’s what I spent:

groceries 8.26

Hungry Harvest Produce Box: $15.00

Farmer’s Market: $13.50

Aldi: $28.64 (on food–we also got a harness for Punc)

H-Mart: $12.70

Total: $69.84

Here’s what I got:

groc 8.26

HH Box: 1 pint cherry tomatoes, 2 apples, 2 lemons, 2 asian pears, 1 onion, 1 head red leaf lettuce, cauliflower, 1 lb green beans

Farmer’s Market: 2 peaches, 2 green plums, 1 pint prune plums, 1 pint pickles, 1 pint pickled beets

H-Mart: 2 lbs bulgogi-cut beef, 1 dozen eggs

Aldi: 2 chocolate bars, olive oil spray, 3 lbs lemons, cashews, 1 qt yogurt, ricotta cheese, salt, green onions, sour cream, butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar, powdered sugar

Here’s what we’re eating:

Saturday: Out to a Barbecue I made deviled eggs and a double batch of lemon bars to contribute.

Sunday: Bulgogi Beef with Rice and Lettuce and green onions, carrots, and onion topping.  We had all the ingredients for ssamjang in the fridge already, plus soy sauce for the marinade.  We wrapped up the beef and rice in the lettuce from our produce box

Monday: At Class. There are leftovers for M and I made a batch of rhubarb-streusel muffins on Sunday with pantry ingredients.  I’ve frozen the muffins and took a muffin + 2 oz of cashews along with me to class.  I also brought coffee and water from work (free).

Tuesday: Out for M’s mum’s birthday  At least I think we are going out.  If need be, I can move up Friday’s pasta dish to tonight.

Wednesday: Friend’s Going Away Party at a Thai restaurant, so at least there will be plenty of leftovers for Thursday lunch!

Thursday: Butternut Squash Gnocchi with Sage in Browned Butter  I’ve had the squash for months, but luckily these keep well.  It will make plenty of extra gnocchi to freeze for later.  Plus fresh sage from the garden and a little browned butter.

Friday: Ricotta Pasta with Green Beans and Tomatoes All fresh ingredients this week, except for pasta from the pantry.  If we end up eating this earlier this week, I can make risotto with roasted tomatoes instead.

Saturday: Out on a Day Trip

Breakfasts are avocado toast (with avocados from last week), eggs, yogurt+fruit.  Lunches are leftovers, overnight oats, or hard-boiled eggs.

 

Leave a Reply

