Budget Update & Meal Plan for September 3-9

Happy Labor Day!  M and I have made the best of the weekend.  On Saturday, we drove up to Baltimore with a friend.  I was the only one of the trio who had been to the National Aquarium, so we braved the cold drizzly day to enlighten the guys.  I have fond memories of visiting the aquarium when I was a kid (before many of the renovations).  Seriously: museums, aquariums, zoos…all my favs.   I will always go.  Thankfully, I live close enough to D.C. that I can scratch my museum itch with all of the free Smithsonian institutions.  Anyways, we got our fill of sharks and fish and three-finned seat-turtles.  (That turtle has been there since I can remember–and was super active all day, which was awesome).

Then we did a little googling to find the locals choice for seafood, rather than any of there over-priced chains surrounding the National Harbor.   We ended up at LP Steamers and feasted on blue crabs, shrimp, lobster, clams, mussels, scallops, and oysters.  Add a basket of fries and a cider, and I was a happy girl.

On Sunday, we drove down to see A at her new townhouse and to reunite Punc with her sister.  That dog has been so forlorn whenever we visit my mother, because Panda isn’t there to play with her anymore.

We stopped by Potters’ Craft Cidery, just because it was 10 minutes down the road.  All of the ciders were nicely light, and I appreciated that all of them–even the fruited styles, were not very sweet.  Its a good brand to look out for, as their distribution grows!  We took Skyline Drive for the way back.  Driving through mountains with an audiobook playing was a lovely way to spend an afternoon.

We were back to reality today, tidying the house and grocery shopping, etc.  This week’s groceries was a lot of indulgence and some stocking up.  We are gone again this weekend, down to North Carolina, so I only had to worry about four dinners this week.  I brought my friend to Aldi for the first time and was a little distracted by explaining everything in the store.  Also, the store was pretty sparse.  They obviously hadn’t stocked up since before the weekend, hence my going over budget.  The bacon I grabbed was in the wrong box–I was expecting a $3.19 price point.  Not so much…premium instead.

In addition to all in the meal plan, I made a plum cake with the plums from last week.  The cake base is from Flavor Flours, which I would highly recommend!  I love that the focus is on the individual flours and how the taste and texture can complement various types of confectionary and pastry.  We are just about back to our regular Fall schedules, so I’m hoping that this week will be the start of my working out the routine for this season.  Anyways, lets look at these groceries…

Here’s what I spent:

groceries 9.4

Hungry Harvest Produce Box: $15.00

Aldi: $35.64

Total: $50.64

 

Here’s what I got:

grocery 9.4

HH Produce Box: Zucchini, tomato, 2 onions, 2 crowns of broccoli, 2 asian pears, 1 avocado, 2 mangos, 2 clementines, 3 romaine hearts.

Aldi: 1.5 lbs top round steak, butter, bacon, shredded cheese, olive oil, cream cheese, sausage links, Swiss cheese, goat cheese, peanut butter, half & half, white wine

+ 18 eggs from my mother’s coworker

 

Here’s what we’re having:

Sunday: Out on the road.

Monday: Turkey-Broccoli Quiche with a side salad  I found some turkey stashed in our freezer, so the broccoli in this week’s box was rather serendipitous.  This is my all-time favorite quiche, and I’m usually constrained to making it around the holidays when there are turkey leftovers.  It is a nice surprise to make it in September!  1 crown of broccoli will go in to this.

Tuesday: Leftovers while M is out and I work the late shift.  More quiche!  I’m not complaining!

Wednesday: Steak with Balsamic Tomatoes, Roasted Broccoli, Smashed Potatoes A nice indulgence, since steak usually isn’t in the budget.  Unfortunately, prices weren’t as great as I was expecting for beef, but this will still be super tasty.  We’ll likely supplement the HH tomato with one of our own from our garden.  This will use up the rest of the broccoli, and a few red potatoes that have lingered in the pantry for a couple of weeks.

Thursday: Roasted Cauliflower with Whipped Goat Cheese, Zucchini & Roasted Tomatoes  I stumbled across this recipe last week and it looks tasty.  Last week’s cauliflower never made it into rice, so it will be used up here; along with this week’s zucchini and plenty of cherry tomatoes from our garden.

Friday: Cobb Salad with the rest of the romaine, some bacon, hard-boiled eggs, shredded cheddar, tomatoes, and bleu cheese dressing from the fridge.

Saturday: Road-trip to North Carolina for M’s nephew’s birthday! We’ll be making our traditional stop into the Saxapahaw General Store.  They always have great local goodies.  I’ll be grabbing a couple more bottles of their elderberry syrup, for sure.  I mix it into my kombucha for flavor + an extra immunity boost!

Breakfasts will be eggs or oatmeal.  Lunches will be leftovers+fruit.

2 Comments on “Budget Update & Meal Plan for September 3-9”

  1. Mom says:

    Don’t forget to add some bacon to your quiche, if you can spare it from other things!


Leave a Reply

